The Bodies of ISSI - Organization Chart

The Board of Trustees oversees the work accomplished by the institute, exerts financial control, and appoints the ISSI Directors and members of the Science Committee. The members of the Board of Trustees are of the representatives of the Founder and of the funding agencies.

Members of the Board of Trustees:

Chair: Georges Meylan, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Vice Chair: Véronique Dehant, Royal Observatory of Belgium, Brussels, Belgium
Secretary of the Board: Rudolf von Steiger, International Space Science Institute, Bern, Switzerland
Willy Benz, University of Bern, Switzerland
Johan A.M. Bleeker, SRON, Utrecht, The Netherlands
Lennard A. Fisk, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA
Daniel Fürst, RUAG, Zurich, Switzerland
Günther Hasinger, ESA, Paris, France
Adrian Jäggi, President of the Pro ISSI Association, Bern, Switzerland
Renato Krpoun, Swiss Space Office, Bern, Switzerland
Georges Meynet, Observatoire de Sauverny, University of Geneva, Sauverny, Switzerland
Monica Tosi, INAF - OAS Osservatorio di Astrofisica e Scienza dello Spazio di Bologna, Italy
Ji Wu, National Space Science Center (CAS) and International Space Science Institute Beijing, China
Lev M. Zelenyi, Space Research Institute (IKI), Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia ________________________________________________________

The ISSI Directorate is in charge of the scientific, operational and administrative management of the International Space Science Institute. It interacts with the Space Agencies, the Swiss authorities, the Board of Trustees, the Science Committee and the Association Pro ISSI.

Members of the Directorate:

Tilman Spohn, Executive Director
Anny Cazenave, Director Earth Science
Rudolf von Steiger, Director
Joachim Wambsganss, Director


The Science Committee is made up of internationally renowned scientists. It supports the Directorate in the establishment of the scientific agenda, e.g., evaluating the scientific team proposals of the Annual Call.

Members of the Science Committee:

Chair: Louise Harra, PMOD WRC, Davos, Switzerland
Secretary of the Science Committee: Maurizio Falanga, International Space Science Institute, Bern, Switzerland

Roberto Bruno, IAPS, INAF, Rome, Italy
Corinne Charbonnel, Department of Astronomy, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Pen-Fei Chen, Nanjing University, China
Xiaolong Dong, International Space Science Institute Beijing, Beijing, China (ex officio)
Lyndsay Fletcher, University of Glasgow, Scotland
Stein Haaland, University of Bergen, Norway
Kevin Heng, Center for Space and Habitability, University of Bern, Switzerland
Timothy Horbury, Imperial College, London, UK
Vladislav Izmodenov, IKI, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia (ex officio RAS)
Arvind Parmar, ESTEC ESA, Noordwijk, The Netherlands (ex officio ESA)
Francesca Primas, ESO, Munich, Germany
Michael Rast, ESA ESRIN, Frascati, Italy (ex officio ESA)
Heike Rauer, DLR Institute of Planetary Research, Berlin, Germany
Kanako Seki, University of Tokyo, Japan
Sami Solanki, MPI for Solar System Research, Göttingen, Germany
Christophe Sotin, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL/Caltech), Pasadena, USA
Karina von Schuckmann, Mercator Océan, Ramonville Saint-Agne, France
Frances Westall, CNRS Orleans Campus, Orleans, France


The Association Pro ISSI under the direction of the Board of the Association Pro ISSI promotes the ideas of ISSI to the Swiss public and the science community by organizing public lectures and events in Switzerland where internationally known space scientists present their findings. Summaries of these talks are published in the journal "SPATIUM".

Members of the Board of the Association Pro ISSI:

President: Adrian Jäggi, University of Bern, Switzerland
Treasurer: Anette Jäckel, Bern, Switzerland
Editor of Spatium: Anuschka Pauluhn, Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen, Switzerland
Secretary: Yasmine Calisesi, Bern, Switzerland

Funding Agencies of the International Space Science Institute

European Space Agency >>

  Swiss Confederation >>
  Swiss Academy of Sciences >>
In-Kind Facilities and Grant to a Director
  University of Bern >>

ISSI Partners Supporting ISSI with an Annual Contribution

  Space Research Institute (IKI) >>
  JAXA | Institute of Space and Astronautical Science (ISAS) >>



List of former members of all bodies of ISSI >

last update: 15 October 2019


Members of the Board of Trustees Members of the ISSI Directorate Members of the Science Committee Members of the Board of the Pro-ISSI Association ISSI Management and Administration Funding Agencies of ISSI